Subscribe to FDD

Canada Sanctions

In accordance with U.N. Security Council resolutions on Iran, Canada has taken steps to implement international sanctions and enacted additional unilateral ones in July 2010.

Existing Sanctions

Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolution on Iran

In February 2007, Canada issued an act to implement the regulations of UN Security Council Resolution 1737, which restricted the trade of WMD- and nuclear-related goods and financial transactions and the conduct of business with designated entities and individuals in Iran.

Regulations Amending the United Nations Resolution on Iran

In May 2007, Canada implemented UN Security Council Resolution 1747, which placed an embargo on Iran for all arms and related materials, and travel and financial restrictions on additional individuals and entities.

In April 2008, Canada implemented UN Security Council Resolution 1803, reiterating the previous sanctions and imposing further travel, trade and financial restrictions on specified Iranian individuals and entities.

In June 2010, after the UN Security Council issued Resolution 1929, Canada enacted additional restrictions on Iranian individuals and entities, and trade of nuclear-related and ballistic missile materials.

Special Economic Measures Act (SEMA)

In July 2010, Canada issued the Special Economic Measures Act, which prohibits the export of arms, oil and gas refining equipment that could be used to produce nuclear weapons, the establishment of joint financial institutions or banking relationships with Iran, and transactions with the Islamic Republic of Iran Shipping Line (IRISL).

On January 31, 2012, Canada expanded its sanctions against Iran adding five entitites and three individuals to its list of designated persons.

Severing Diplomatic Ties

On September 7, 2012, the Canadian government announced that it closed its embassy in Iran, effective immediately, and declared personae non gratae all remaining Iranian diplomats in Canada.

Identifying the IRGC

On December 12, 2012, Canada's Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird announced new sanctions against Iran, adding 98 entities named as designated persons including the Islamic Revolutionary Guards Corps (IRGC) and the Basij.

Targeting the IRGC

On December 20, 2012, Canada added the IRGC's Qods Force to its list of terrorist entities.